Bylaws of Local Emergency Planning Committee

Article | - Identification

The LaGrange County Emergency Planning Committee, hereinafter referred to as the "Committee" is a state entity created pursuant to SARA Title III, the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act of 1986. The committee has been appointed by the Indiana Emergency Response Commission. The primary purpose of the Committee is to implement SARA Title III in Indiana, but its broader purpose is to enhance environmental protection and public health and safety as these are affected by chemical hazards in LaGrange County.

Article II - Committee Members

Section 1: Organizations Represented

The Committee consists of members selected under the provisions of these Bylaws and appointed by the Indiana Emergency Response Commissioner, and includes representatives from the following: local and state government, law enforcement, emergency management, firefighting, emergency medical services, health, hospital, environmental, transportation, media, industry and community groups.

Section 2: Membership Applications

Membership on the Committee is open to any interested person who meets the criteria established by the Indiana Emergency Response Commission for membership in the roster category in question. The names of the qualifying applicants will be forwarded to the IERC for provisional appointment until the next IERC meeting. Applicants whom the Chair informs do not meet the IERC's criteria; will be informed of the procedure for petitioning the IERC to appeal the Chair's determination.

Section 3: Proxies

Members in good standing may designate other individuals to vote in their absence by appointing a proxy for any regularly scheduled meeting. Proxies may vote on any and all items properly brought before the Committee.

Article III - Committee Meetings

Section 1: Frequency of Meetings

The Committee will meet at least quarterly, and more frequently at the discretion of its Chair.

Section 2: Announcement of meetings

Members of the Committee will be notified at each Committee meeting of the next meeting time, place, and date, and advertised as required by the IERC.

Section 3: Location of Meetings

The Committee meetings will be held at 114 W. Michigan, LaGrange, Indiana, or as otherwise determined by the Chair.

Section 4: Quorum of Members for Meetings

A quorum of Committee members is required for the conduct of business, and consists of the presence of a majority of members.

Section 5: Conduct of Meetings

Committee meetings will be conducted according to Robert's Rules of Order, and Committee business according to the provisions of Indiana State Statutes. Any matter to be voted on will take the form of a resolution or motion. Each Committee member, including the chair will have one vote. A Committee member may vote for or against a resolution, or may abstain from voting.

Article IV - Committee Sub-Committees

Section 1: Identification of Committees and Appointments/Resignations

The Sub-Committees are four **(4)** in number and are the Planning, Fiscal, Communications and Training Sub-Committees. Appointments to Sub-Committees, including Sub-Committee Chairs, are made by the Chair of the Committee. Resignations of Sub-Committee members are to be submitted in writing to the Chair, who will, at his/her discretion, replace resigning members.

Section 2: Dissolution and Establishment of Sub-Committees

Additional Sub-Committees may be established and existing ones dissolved by a majority vote of Committee.

Section 3: Duties of Sub-Committees

Sub-Committees will convene to consider issues assigned by the Committee and/or issues of the Sub-Committee's devising.

Sub-Committee meetings will be held at the discretion of Sub-

Committee Chairs in terms of frequency and location.

Sub-Committees will report their findings and make their recommendations to the full Committee.

Sub-Committee recommendations must, to be adopted, be affirmed as resolutions by a majority of the Committee members.

Additional duties may be assigned Sub-Committees by the Committee Chair.

Article V - Officers

Section 1: Officers

The Officers of the Committee are the Chair, Vice-Chair and Secretary.

Section 2: Terms of Officers

The Terms of the Officers are for a period of one year. There are no term limits.

Section 3: Election of Officers

Annual election of Officers will be effected by a majority vote of all Committee members appointed by the Indiana Emergency Response Commission.

Article VI - Powers and Duties of Officers

Section 1: Meeting Frequency, Dates, Times and Locations

The Chair will determine the frequency, dates, times and locations of Committee meetings.

Section 2: Sub-Committee Appointments

The Committee Chair will appoint the Chair and members of each Sub- Committee

Section 3: Committee Meetings' Conduct

The Chair will conduct Committee meetings according to Robert's Rules of Order and these bylaws.

Committee meeting agendas will be set by the Chair.

Section 4: Delegation of Authority

The Chair of the Committee may delegate at his/her discretion and his/her powers and duties to the Vice-chair, consistent with other provisions of the bylaws.

Section 5: Meeting Minutes and Fiscal Records

The Secretary will keep Committee meeting minutes. The auditor will provide a record of the finances of the Committee.

Article VII - Title III Document Submissions

Section 1: Repository of Documents

The Lagrange County Emergency Management Office will be the repository for all documents submitted to the Committee pursuant to the provisions of SARA Title III.

Section 2: Availability of Documents to the Public

Title III documents will be available for examination by the public during the hours of 8:00 AM and 4:00 pm Monday through Friday, at the Lagrange County Emergency Management Office. The Committee shall assure that all records properly claimed confidential shall remain confidential and only appropriate information be given to the public.

Section 3: Committee Records

All records of Committee meetings, including meeting agendas and minutes, will be available for inspection by the general public and interested parties at the Lagrange County Emergency Management Office.

Section 4: Legal Notices

The Committee will publish annually a legal notice including where all Title III documents are maintained, including the Committee's emergency plan, MSOS, Tier forms, and written follow-up notices from facilities experiencing Title III spills.

Article VIII - Adoption/Amendment of Committee Bylaws

Section 1: Adoption of Bylaws

A majority of Committee members is required to adopt the Committee's Bylaws

Section 2: Amendment of Bylaws

A two-thirds (2/3) majority of Committee members is required to amend the Committee's bylaws.

Article IX - Non-Exclusion Provision

Nothing in these bylaws is to be construed as excluding or contravening any additional provision of federal or state law which are not explicitly or implicitly referred to within these bylaws.

Article X - Bylaws Adoption and Signing

Upon their adoption of the Committee, a copy of these bylaws will be signed and dated by the Chair of the Committee and will be available for inspection by the public at the Lagrange County Emergency Management Office.

Approved and adopted by majority vote in a public meeting held this	
day of, 2021	
,	
Chairperson	